Purple Chick SMiLE Mix

So here it is, the "Cadillac" of SMiLEs... And it is very good indeed. I only have one regret: on some tracks, they've used excerpts from BWPS 2004... Listening to this today made me want to do a better SMiLE mix than the first one I made. I'll try to complete it during July and August, stay tuned! But for now, enjoy this SMiLE mix.

In order to be downloaded (and uploaded!!!) easily, the tracks are "only" high-quality 160 kbps MP3s, converted from FLAC files. Complete artwork is included in high resolution!

Links: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8

Reupload note: I'll be reuploading the FLAC version as well, so if you're into lossless stuff, you might as well wait for that one.


Unsurpassed Masters Vol. 20 - 20/20, Friends, Misc

I'm going to start posting the Unsurpassed Masters sets, starting from n°20 and then finishing with n°1 and the other UM sets (Live Box, Christmas Album, Stereo Today & Summer Days...)

So here is vol. 20, that contains session excerpts and outtakes from the 20/20 and Friends sessions, along with some miscellaneous stuff. Artwork is included!

Part 1 links: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 / 9

Part 2 links: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8


Brian Loves You

This boot is one of my favourites. It contains songs recorded by Brian with or without the presence of other Beach Boys, around 1976 and 1977. Amongst the tracks, there's a yet-unreleased song titled "That Special Feeling"; "They're Marching Along", the "prototype" for "Little Children" (on Brian's 1988 solo album); an alternate version of "My Diane"; two takes of "I'm Bugged At My Old Man", recorded for a TV special and featuring Dennis and Carl, and finally demos for many "Adult Child" (unreleased album) and "Love You" songs.

My favourite on this release: the "I'll Bet He's Nice" demo. It showcases Brian's famous "piano-banging" style, and you can hear Mike Love near the end of the song, singing along with Brian!

This upload actually comes from a friend of mine, who ripped his vinyl into 192k mp3s. Thanks to him for allowing me to post it here!

Links (artwork included): 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8


Side A:
01. That Special Feeling (demo)
02. It's Over Now (demo)
03. It's Over Now (demo)
04. They're Marching Along (aka Little Children, demo)
05. Still I Dream Of It (demo)
06. My Diane (alternate version)

Side B:
01. Love Is A Woman (demo)
02. Mona (demo)
03. Airplane (demo)
04. Let's Put Our Hearts Together (demo)
05. I'll Bet He's Nice (demo)
06. I'm Bugged At My Old Man (TV special rehearsal)
07. I'm Bugged At My Old Man (TV special version)

P.S. There might be some people here that haven't listened to the 1977 "Love You" album yet. I advise them to listen to it - at first listen it might sound a bit weird, but if you take the time to "absorb" the music you'll find yourself thinking that it's one of the best Beach Boys albums. *I* certainly do. ;)


Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) Alternate Mix

Okay, this first upload is an alternate mix of Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) from the Pet Sounds album, featuring the "Vocal Snippet". I had been looking for a similar version, but couldn't find it... So I decided to do it myself.

It might sound surprising, but this actually required a bit of work. The vocal snippet is way faster than the song, so I've had to slow down the vocal snippet... But then, the parts wouldn't match! In fact, after dividing the snippet in 7 or 8 parts, I had to slow down some parts of the snippet more than others, to make the whole thing listenable. It took me about an hour, but I'm quite satisfied with the result. The surprise comes at around 00:53!

Enjoy and please let me know what you think!

Links: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9


Hello and welcome! On this blog, you'll find rare music by the Beach Boys and Brian Wilson, as well as good music by other artists. I hope you'll dig the sounds as much as I do! I'll be happy to fulfill any request, provided I have the material you're asking for. :)

~Linear Zap